Engaging Communities Both Online and Off: Being a ‘Strategic Academic’… or trying to be!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything on this blog, and the irony now occurs to me that I’ve let this site go ‘quiet’ so long after a presentation I delivered last year. In August I was invited to give a talk as part of ‘The Strategic Academic’ workshop convened by Deakin University’s Faculty of Arts and Education. I called the presentation ‘Be(ing) Visible Through Virtual and Non-Virtual Community Engagement’ and tried to put into practice some of the ideas I would talk about in relation to using digital media for research purposes. So instead of the usual PowerPoint slideshow that I’ve used in the past, I wanted to experiment with making a video with visuals for me to talk over. As I warned everyone on the day, I hadn’t tried this before so may well have found myself either trying to catch up to the video or waiting for it to catch up to me. This is what happened…

Thanks for watching!

Leave a Reply

