Making Welcome Videos for University Teaching

I was recently asked to participate, in person or virtually – such is the nature of invitations these days! – in a few workshops on creating ‘Welcome Videos’ for teaching at Deakin University. I’ve been making these (and other) kinds of videos for three years, and I’ve got to the point where my immediate question to myself whenever I’m asked to do anything is ‘Can I use this opportunity to make a “movie”?’ That’s pretty much the mindset anyone needs to be in to keep a consistent online presence and avoid a stale YouTube channel. As a result of this workshop invite, I put together the following video and while I wasn’t able to attend non-virtually, I now wonder whether the contextually interpersonal nature of social media (and particularly the role film plays in this) blurs the once clearly distinguishable line enough to make my ‘appearance’ close enough to being ‘in person’ anyway… Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

